DANCE MTAANI

Dance Mtaani is a Kenyan community-based organization (CBO) that has been organizing dance classes and events for children and young people for years. Together with Mizizi, Dance Mtaani wants to build a youth center in Nairobi and later look after it independently.

What is the problem?

One of the greatest challenges in Kenya is high unemployment, which is often even higher in cities than in the countryside. In addition, it is mainly young people between the ages of 15 and 24 who cannot find jobs. At this age, young adults try to find out who they really are and where their place is in this world.

To be confronted in such a formative phase with the paralyzing feeling of lack of opportunities and prospects can have an enormous impact on the development of young people. Young people are frustrated, do not feel part of society, have existential fears and are increasingly losing faith in themselves. For this reason, there are more and more young people who feel compelled to live on the streets or take refuge in crime.

How can a youth center solve that?

A youth center gives young adults a “safe space” where they can feel at home, exchange ideas and make a difference together. By promoting their talents, they learn that they are of value and that they can achieve something - even without money. This promotes self-confidence, gives them the feeling of not being alone and of being perceived as part of society again. A youth center offers young adults the opportunity to deal with topics that interest them.

You can organize and help shape meetings and events on your own. In this way, the young people learn the ability to work in a team, to solve conflicts, to work independently, to rely on each other and finally to be able to trust their own abilities. It also promotes tolerance and exchange in a country with 42 tribes and around 62 different languages and dialects.

How does Mizizi support?

Since the group is very well organized and takes on the planning of the project largely independently, Mizizi mainly provides financial support for the purchase of land and the construction of the youth center.

DANCE MTAANI

Dance Mtaani ist eine kenianische Community-Based Organisation (CBO), die schon seit Jahren Tanzunterricht und Events für Kinder und Jugendliche veranstaltet. Zusammen mit Mizizi will Dance Mtaani ein Jugendzentrum in Nairobi bauen und später eigenverantwortlich weiter betreuen.

 

Was ist das Problem? 

 

Eine der größten Herausforderungen in Kenia ist die hohe Arbeitslosigkeit, die in Städten häufig noch höher ist als auf dem Land. Zudem sind es vor allem Jugendliche zwischen 15 und 24 Jahren, die keine Jobs finden. In diesem Alter versuchen junge Erwachsene herauszufinden, wer sie eigentlich sind und wo ihr Platz in dieser Welt ist. 

Robert.png
SAM_2827.jpg

In solch einer prägenden Phase mit dem lähmenden Gefühl von Chancen- und Perspektivlosigkeit konfrontiert zu sein, kann einen enormen Einfluss auf die Entwicklung der Jugendlichen haben. Die Jugendlichen sind frustriert, sie fühlen sich nicht als Teil der Gesellschaft, haben Existenzängste und verlieren zunehmend den Glauben an sich selbst. Aus diesem Grund gibt es immer mehr Jugendliche, die sich gezwungen sehen auf der Straße zu leben oder sich in die Kriminalität flüchten.

 

Wie kann ein Jugendzentrum das lösen?

 

Ein Jugendzentrum gibt jungen Erwachsenen einen “safe space”, in dem sie sich zu Hause fühlen, sich austauschen und gemeinsam etwas bewegen können. Indem ihre Talente gefördert werden, lernen sie, dass sie etwas Wert sind und sie etwas erreichen können - auch ohne Geld. Das fördert das Selbstbewusstsein, gibt ihnen das Gefühl nicht allein zu sein und wieder als Teil der Gesellschaft wahrgenommen zu werden. Ein Jugendzentrum bietet den jungen Erwachsenen die Möglichkeit sich mit Themen zu beschäftigen, die sie interessieren.

IMG_2706.jpg
IMG_2814.jpg

Sie können sich eigenständig Treffen und Events organisieren und mitgestalten. So lernen die Jugendlichen Teamfähigkeit, Konflikte zu lösen, eigenverantwortlich zu arbeiten, sich aufeinander verlassen und schließlich auf ihre eigenen Fähigkeiten vertrauen zu können. Des Weiteren fördert es Toleranz und Austausch in einem Land mit 42 Stämmen und ca. 62 verschiedenen Sprachen und Dialekten.

 

In welcher Form unterstützt Mizizi?

 

Da die Gruppe sehr gut organisiert ist und die Planung des Projektes weitestgehend eigenständig übernimmt, unterstützt Mizizi vor allem finanziell beim Kauf von Land und Bau des Jugendzentrums.